Why not just check the wield item's wield texture on the go and just use that so you don't have to define every SINGLE THING that is installed?stu wrote:Additional wieldable items can be included via init.luajordan4ibanez wrote:Oh so whatever you're wielding does show? or only certain things? I'm kind of confused.Just look at those included for an example.Code: Select all
armor_api.wieldable_items = { ["default:sword_steel"] = "3d_armor_default_sword_steel.png", ["default:sword_stone"] = "3d_armor_default_sword_stone.png", ["default:sword_wood"] = "3d_armor_default_sword_wood.png", ["default:pick_mese"] = "3d_armor_default_pick_mese.png", ["default:pick_steel"] = "3d_armor_default_pick_steel.png", ["default:pick_stone"] = "3d_armor_default_pick_stone.png", ["default:pick_wood"] = "3d_armor_default_pick_wood.png", ["default:axe_steel"] = "3d_armor_default_axe_steel.png", ["default:axe_stone"] = "3d_armor_default_axe_stone.png", ["default:axe_wood"] = "3d_armor_default_axe_wood.png", ["default:shovel_steel"] = "3d_armor_default_shovel_steel.png", ["default:shovel_stone"] = "3d_armor_default_shovel_stone.png", ["default:shovel_wood"] = "3d_armor_default_shovel_wood.png", }
[Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]
- jordan4ibanez
- Member
- Posts: 1926
- Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
- GitHub: jordan4ibanez
- IRC: jordan4ibanez
- In-game: jordan4ibanez
gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble
- stu
- Member
- Posts: 923
- Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
- GitHub: stujones11
- Location: United Kingdom
A. Because I don't even think it is currently possible to read an items texture (could be mistaken here)jordan4ibanez wrote:Why not just check the wield item's wield texture on the go and just use that so you don't have to define every SINGLE THING that is installed?
B. The image needs to be re-sized to 64x64 to fit my customized mesh.
- jordan4ibanez
- Member
- Posts: 1926
- Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
- GitHub: jordan4ibanez
- IRC: jordan4ibanez
- In-game: jordan4ibanez
A: Yes you canstu wrote:A. Because I don't even think it is currently possible to read an items texture (could be mistaken here)jordan4ibanez wrote:Why not just check the wield item's wield texture on the go and just use that so you don't have to define every SINGLE THING that is installed?
B. The image needs to be re-sized to 64x64 to fit my customized mesh.
B: Why not resize your mesh to fix 16x16?
gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble
- stu
- Member
- Posts: 923
- Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
- GitHub: stujones11
- Location: United Kingdom
Well, on both counts, I do not know how to do that.jordan4ibanez wrote:A: Yes you can
B: Why not resize your mesh to fix 16x16?
Last edited by stu on Mon Feb 25, 2013 01:02, edited 1 time in total.
- jordan4ibanez
- Member
- Posts: 1926
- Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
- GitHub: jordan4ibanez
- IRC: jordan4ibanez
- In-game: jordan4ibanez
Here, this will check if the wield item's texture, and if it is a block it will use the first texture from the tile face.stu wrote:Well, on both counts, I do not know how to do that.jordan4ibanez wrote:A: Yes you can
B: Why not resize your mesh to fix 16x16?
Code: Select all
minetest.register_globalstep(function(dtime)
for _,player in ipairs(minetest.get_connected_players()) do
local wielded_item = player:get_wielded_item()
local readable_wielded_item = wielded_item:to_table()
if readable_wielded_item ~= nil then
local get_item_name = readable_wielded_item.name
local wield_item_texture = minetest.registered_items[get_item_name].inventory_image
if wield_item_texture == "" then
local wield_item_texture = minetest.registered_items[get_item_name].tiles[1]
end
print(dump(wield_item_texture))
end
end
end)
Last edited by jordan4ibanez on Mon Feb 25, 2013 02:43, edited 1 time in total.
gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble gobble
- kaeza
- Moderator
- Posts: 2162
- Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 05:00
- IRC: kaeza diemartin
- In-game: kaeza diemartin
- Contact:
I will switch my mod into something different (sorry, I didn't notice this mod was already started).stu wrote:on a real operating system you would use: patch init.lua < foobar.patch. IIRC you can maybe do this with MSYS under windoze.Jordach wrote:I dont know how patches work, could it be possible to generate an init.lua file?
I think Kaeza was referring to your 3d armor entity thread there. He does not seem to even acknowledge the existence of this mod. To be fair though, I did not even release this as a mod myself, it got moved here from modding general and re-titled by some admin.4aiman wrote:According to the readme, Kaeza "forgot" who made this mod despite it's WIP state and made his own version.
Anyway, Kaeza is quite welcome to use this idea with the existing armor mod because that is exactly what I did not want to do. There should be no wood (shield excepted) or stone armor for sure. Even copper, gold and silver are a bit wrong IMO.
@LorenzoVulcan I do plan to include some limited support for the player skin switching. Unfortunately it is not something as straightforward as rendering the .x to fit the skin. The skin needs to fit the mesh and will therefore need to be re-sized in order to work with the new wielded items model.
BTW, what is your method for "displaying" the armors? Do you use overlayed textures?
Your signature is not the place for a blog post. Please keep it as concise as possible. Thank you!
- Likwid H-Craft
- Member
- Posts: 1113
- Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 14:20
- Location: Lost in Crypt
How do you have players holding items?
Since I like to make it, work for my Portaltest.
Since I like to make it, work for my Portaltest.
My Domain's/others:
http://likwidtest.hj.cx/ (Not Done)
http://likwidtest.hj.cx/ (Not Done)
- stu
- Member
- Posts: 923
- Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
- GitHub: stujones11
- Location: United Kingdom
Thankyou for the code, I never thought of using minetest.registered.item for this, however, that only solves problem A. Problem B might not be so easy without changing the engine itself to support multiple texture maps of different sizes/resolutions.jordan4ibanez wrote:Here, this will check if the wield item's texture, and if it is a block it will use the first texture from the tile face.stu wrote:Well, on both counts, I do not know how to do that.jordan4ibanez wrote:A: Yes you can
B: Why not resize your mesh to fix 16x16?Code: Select all
minetest.register_globalstep(function(dtime) for _,player in ipairs(minetest.get_connected_players()) do local wielded_item = player:get_wielded_item() local readable_wielded_item = wielded_item:to_table() if readable_wielded_item ~= nil then local get_item_name = readable_wielded_item.name local wield_item_texture = minetest.registered_items[get_item_name].inventory_image if wield_item_texture == "" then local wield_item_texture = minetest.registered_items[get_item_name].tiles[1] end print(dump(wield_item_texture)) end end end)
No problem, but I really don't think that should be neccessary. Armor_plus would be a very useful addition to the existing armor mod, esp. for those already using it. Just because I don't like the idea of stone armor etc, there are plenty of people who do want that. Armor_plus would also not (as yet) require any changes to the character mesh, which this mod does. That gives it a number of advantages, like much easier integration of player skins.kaeza wrote:I will switch my mod into something different (sorry, I didn't notice this mod was already started).
Yes, though not ideal, it does seem to work so long as the images are all kept the same size as the player skin.kaeza wrote:BTW, what is your method for "displaying" the armors? Do you use overlayed textures?
It's all done with smoke and mirrors...maybe this image will give you an idea.Likwid H-Craft wrote:How do you have players holding items?
Since I like to make it, work for my Portaltest.

Last edited by stu on Mon Feb 25, 2013 21:39, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Member
- Posts: 160
- Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 22:11
that looks great, but could you please move your code into a repository like git or hg so it would be easier to update your mod for a server-admin.
Gr8 b8, m8. I rel8, str8 appreci8, and congratul8. I r8 this b8 an 8/8. Plz no h8, I'm str8 ir8. Cr8 more, can't w8. We should convers8, I won't ber8, my number is 8888888, ask for N8. No calls l8 or out of st8. If on a d8, ask K8 to loc8. Even with a full pl8, I always have time to communic8 so don't hesit8.
- stu
- Member
- Posts: 923
- Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
- GitHub: stujones11
- Location: United Kingdom
-
- Member
- Posts: 4534
- Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
- GitHub: Jordach
- IRC: Jordach
- In-game: Jordach
- Location: Blender Scene
Oh yes please! What could be done is something clever. Perhaps 64x packs may not need to scale their images, as their items are already at the said 64x.stu wrote:Aboslutely, i will do that, very soon. I've been thinking about it for a while... I'll get on to it asap, I promise.Iqualfragile wrote:that looks great, but could you please move your code into a repository like git or hg so it would be easier to update your mod for a server-admin.
Cheers.
- stu
- Member
- Posts: 923
- Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
- GitHub: stujones11
- Location: United Kingdom
Mod Updaded, version: 0.1.1
All wielded items are now visible (thanks jordan4ibanez)
Player skins no longer need to be re-sized as this is now all done in lua.
As requested, I uploaded 3d_armor to an online git repository. Please bear with me as it is my first time using git.
See top post for details.

Cheers!
All wielded items are now visible (thanks jordan4ibanez)
Player skins no longer need to be re-sized as this is now all done in lua.
As requested, I uploaded 3d_armor to an online git repository. Please bear with me as it is my first time using git.
See top post for details.

Cheers!
Last edited by stu on Sun Mar 03, 2013 20:14, edited 1 time in total.
- Splizard
- Member
- Posts: 227
- Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 07:20
- GitHub: Splizard
- IRC: Splizard
- In-game: Splizard
- Location: New Zealand
- Contact:
This is a great mod!
Games: Builda City, The Hungry Games Mods: Lifters, Snow Biomes and Gates. Also checkout my texture pack Gridtoon!
-
- Member
- Posts: 160
- Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 22:11
thanks for using a repositry, im now testing it on my server with some players, im gona give you feedback when i think that there is something improvable
Gr8 b8, m8. I rel8, str8 appreci8, and congratul8. I r8 this b8 an 8/8. Plz no h8, I'm str8 ir8. Cr8 more, can't w8. We should convers8, I won't ber8, my number is 8888888, ask for N8. No calls l8 or out of st8. If on a d8, ask K8 to loc8. Even with a full pl8, I always have time to communic8 so don't hesit8.
-
- Member
- Posts: 160
- Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 22:11
and there we go:
happened when i tried to write sth on a sign (pilzadams signs)
Code: Select all
23:57:56: ACTION[ServerThread]: player Iqualfragile crafts default:sign_wall
23:58:04: ERROR[main]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: ServerError: LuaError: error: ...minetest/bin/../mods/minetest/3d_armor/armor_api.lua:32: attempt to index field 'tiles' (a nil value)
Gr8 b8, m8. I rel8, str8 appreci8, and congratul8. I r8 this b8 an 8/8. Plz no h8, I'm str8 ir8. Cr8 more, can't w8. We should convers8, I won't ber8, my number is 8888888, ask for N8. No calls l8 or out of st8. If on a d8, ask K8 to loc8. Even with a full pl8, I always have time to communic8 so don't hesit8.
- stu
- Member
- Posts: 923
- Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
- GitHub: stujones11
- Location: United Kingdom
Hopefully the latest commit fixes that?Iqualfragile wrote:and there we go:happened when i tried to write sth on a sign (pilzadams signs)Code: Select all
23:57:56: ACTION[ServerThread]: player Iqualfragile crafts default:sign_wall 23:58:04: ERROR[main]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: ServerError: LuaError: error: ...minetest/bin/../mods/minetest/3d_armor/armor_api.lua:32: attempt to index field 'tiles' (a nil value)
Thank you all for your comments.
Last edited by stu on Sun Mar 03, 2013 23:43, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Member
- Posts: 160
- Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 22:11
Code: Select all
17:07:31: ERROR[main]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: ServerError: LuaError: error: ...minetest/bin/../mods/minetest/3d_armor/armor_api.lua:32: attempt to index field 'tiles' (a nil value)
17:07:31: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
Gr8 b8, m8. I rel8, str8 appreci8, and congratul8. I r8 this b8 an 8/8. Plz no h8, I'm str8 ir8. Cr8 more, can't w8. We should convers8, I won't ber8, my number is 8888888, ask for N8. No calls l8 or out of st8. If on a d8, ask K8 to loc8. Even with a full pl8, I always have time to communic8 so don't hesit8.
- stu
- Member
- Posts: 923
- Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
- GitHub: stujones11
- Location: United Kingdom
Sorry about that, it was getting late. I think I have fixed it now though, I've been playing for over an hour doing various things and had no errors so far.Iqualfragile wrote:updatet to the latest git (as always) sadly not fixed yet, a player was crafting at that timeCode: Select all
17:07:31: ERROR[main]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: ServerError: LuaError: error: ...minetest/bin/../mods/minetest/3d_armor/armor_api.lua:32: attempt to index field 'tiles' (a nil value) 17:07:31: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
Note to others: omploader seems to be having problems atm. I will update the direct download link asap.
-
- Member
- Posts: 160
- Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 22:11
stu: you can use github for that, too
Gr8 b8, m8. I rel8, str8 appreci8, and congratul8. I r8 this b8 an 8/8. Plz no h8, I'm str8 ir8. Cr8 more, can't w8. We should convers8, I won't ber8, my number is 8888888, ask for N8. No calls l8 or out of st8. If on a d8, ask K8 to loc8. Even with a full pl8, I always have time to communic8 so don't hesit8.
- stu
- Member
- Posts: 923
- Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
- GitHub: stujones11
- Location: United Kingdom
-
- Member
- Posts: 160
- Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 22:11
stability report: did not crash so far when used on in any standard situation but i think there might be an crash related to unknown items
but thanks for the mod, it realy adds to the game
but thanks for the mod, it realy adds to the game
Last edited by Iqualfragile on Mon Mar 04, 2013 21:03, edited 1 time in total.
Gr8 b8, m8. I rel8, str8 appreci8, and congratul8. I r8 this b8 an 8/8. Plz no h8, I'm str8 ir8. Cr8 more, can't w8. We should convers8, I won't ber8, my number is 8888888, ask for N8. No calls l8 or out of st8. If on a d8, ask K8 to loc8. Even with a full pl8, I always have time to communic8 so don't hesit8.
-
- Member
- Posts: 160
- Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 22:11
another one: it would be great if you could split the mod into its two components: the api and the real armor (you do allready have seperate files for that anyways), that would be great
Gr8 b8, m8. I rel8, str8 appreci8, and congratul8. I r8 this b8 an 8/8. Plz no h8, I'm str8 ir8. Cr8 more, can't w8. We should convers8, I won't ber8, my number is 8888888, ask for N8. No calls l8 or out of st8. If on a d8, ask K8 to loc8. Even with a full pl8, I always have time to communic8 so don't hesit8.
- kaeza
- Moderator
- Posts: 2162
- Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 05:00
- IRC: kaeza diemartin
- In-game: kaeza diemartin
- Contact:
Well... I was gonna do this with my armorplus mod, but since you found how to workaround the problem with different texture sizes, why don't you make something like a "unified skins" mod, where you can register custom skins, and also each player can have different clothing, maybe unrelated to actual armor?
Your signature is not the place for a blog post. Please keep it as concise as possible. Thank you!