[Mod] Magican [0.1] [magican]

Post Reply
User avatar
Mitroman
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 19:47
GitHub: Mitroman
In-game: Mitroman15

[Mod] Magican [0.1] [magican]

by Mitroman » Post

This is my third mod and I am now better in programming mods with lua! Thanks for the comments of the first and second mod! So, back to the mod: Was it your dream to be a magican? So here it comes: It adds three magic sticks into the game:
Magicstick:
[ ] [D] [ ]
[ ] [ ]
[ ] [ ]

By left-click, it will teleport you at the block that you are looking at. By right-click it will teleport you at the top of the block(s).

Telestick:
[ ] [M] [ ]
[ ] [ ]
[ ] [ ]

By left-click it will remove the block and stores it in your "magicinvenotry". Then left-click again and the block will be set to the block that you are looking at. With right-click (after have a block in the "magicinventory") you can spawn the block at the top the other block. So it will stack the block into the air... (if you do not know what I mean just try ;) ).

Drystick:
[M] [D] [M]
[ ] [ ]
[ ] [ ]

By left-click it will change a block (e.g. grass, tree, (something that can be dryed) ) into sand, gravel or (stone into fire).

M = mese crystal
D = diamond
S = stick

Download: https://github.com/Mitroman/magican/archive/master.zip
Code: https://github.com/Mitroman/magican
Depends: none
License: CC-BY-SA 3.0

Bugs:
1. With the tele wand, if you right click a block without anything in the "magic inventory" it gives an error.
Status: Fixed.

Screenshots coming soon...

For ideas, ... please conact me! =)
If you wanna more mods like my three mods, just say it! (Another mod is coming, a digger block that diggs blocks automatic. When you want, I will finish the digger mod.)
Last edited by Mitroman on Thu Apr 10, 2014 10:21, edited 1 time in total.
My mods: Magican, Killer, Clock, Match, Cake.
My Txp: BLoXTxp.
My slogan: EVERYTHING IS AWESOME ;)

If I make any mistakes in english, please tell me so I can correct my mistakes.

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: EvergreenTheTree
IRC: Evergreen
In-game: Evergreen
Location: Unlikely to come back to minetest or update my mods, see my contact info if you need anything.
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

Cool idea! Testing it now. Also, try using the "range" feature for tools. (especially for the wand which teleports you)
Edit: With the tele wand, if you right click a block without anything in the "magic inventory" it gives an error.

Code: Select all

17:59:47: ERROR[main]: ServerError: ...est_versions/minetest-play/bin/../mods/magican/stick.lua:45: bad argument #4 to 'set_node' (string expected, got nil)
17:59:47: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
17:59:47: ERROR[main]:  [C]: in function 'set_node'
17:59:47: ERROR[main]:  ...est_versions/minetest-play/bin/../mods/magican/stick.lua:45: in function <...est_versions/minetest-play/bin/../mods/magican/stick.lua:38>
Last edited by Evergreen on Wed Apr 09, 2014 22:14, edited 1 time in total.
Back from the dead!

4aiman
Member
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 05:47

by 4aiman » Post

Evergreen wrote: Also, try using the "range" feature for tools. (especially for the wand which teleports you)
Don't do it without proper preparations, though.
If you would set 'range' to, say, 20 and do not change on_dig and on_rightclick behaviour of all mods, then you'll enable cheating:
- digging with the wands far away;
- opening inventories far away.

So do it with caution and feel free to ask for help :)

Also, have you some plans regarding the future of this mod of yours?

User avatar
Mitroman
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 19:47
GitHub: Mitroman
In-game: Mitroman15

by Mitroman » Post

Evergreen wrote:Cool idea! Testing it now. Also, try using the "range" feature for tools. (especially for the wand which teleports you)
Edit: With the tele wand, if you right click a block without anything in the "magic inventory" it gives an error.

Code: Select all

17:59:47: ERROR[main]: ServerError: ...est_versions/minetest-play/bin/../mods/magican/stick.lua:45: bad argument #4 to 'set_node' (string expected, got nil)
17:59:47: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
17:59:47: ERROR[main]:  [C]: in function 'set_node'
17:59:47: ERROR[main]:  ...est_versions/minetest-play/bin/../mods/magican/stick.lua:45: in function <...est_versions/minetest-play/bin/../mods/magican/stick.lua:38>
Ill fix. Thanks :D
My mods: Magican, Killer, Clock, Match, Cake.
My Txp: BLoXTxp.
My slogan: EVERYTHING IS AWESOME ;)

If I make any mistakes in english, please tell me so I can correct my mistakes.

User avatar
balthazariv
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 15:48
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Magican [0.1] [magican]

by balthazariv » Post

The idea is original, good works.

Thanks

Minetestforfun
Member
Posts: 940
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
GitHub: MinetestForFun
IRC: MinetestForFun
In-game: MinetestForFun
Location: On earth
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Magican [0.1] [magican]

by Minetestforfun » Post

Good work, very funny :)

Post Reply